When updating my index of soups, I realized I have a lot of recipes on Springpad. Over 1000 and counting — and that doesn’t include the bookmarks that link to interesting articles and other information about food or the delicious links that I imported into Springpad (but have not yet gotten around to copying into the recipes). Slow-cooked, hot and bubbly — they are great winter foods, and I have several variations on the theme; ragu (or ragout), stroganoff, cassoulet, goulash, chili (or chile), baked beans, ….

After making the list, I am surprised how very few I actually have in my recipes as I cook this sort of thing pretty reguarly through the colder months of the year. There must be more of these in my springpad archive; but here’s what I’ve found thus far. I’ll update it again when I have found more.

Vegetarian

All Day Boston Baked Beans
Bulgur and chickpea Chili
Butternut Chili – Crockpot
Ethiopian Beans and Berbere
French Vegetable Stew
Italian Lentil and chestnut Stew
Just Chili – all beans, no meat
Pierce Street Vegetarain Chili
Spicy Red Lentil and Chickpea Stew
Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chili
Two Bean Chili
Vegetable Cassoulet
Vegetarian Baked Beans

Beef/Lamb/Pork

Anthony Bourdain’s Boeuf Bourguignon – Stovetop – SLOW
Basic Beef Stew – 4 variations Beef and ale, Pork and Cider, Chicken and White Wine or Lamb and Red Wine
Beef, ale and onion stew
Beef Goulash – Crockpot
Beef Stew with lots of spices
Beef Stew with Red Wine – Personal Favourite
Carbonnade Beef and Beer stew
Chili Con Carne
Chocolate and Port Beef Stew
Crockpot Beef Stew
Crockpot Hungarian Goulash
GI Diet Beef Stroganoff – See notes for the morning after report
Graisserons – Confit
Martedi – Sausage and beans; a favourite
Neapolitan-style ragu – Pork
Oven baked Stew
Polenta with Beef Ragout – Crockpot
Protein Poisoning Chili – Crockpot; very heavy
Rich and Meaty Lamb Ragù
Slow cooked Boston Baked Beans – Crockpot
Slow cooked Stew – Crockpot
Thomas Keller’s Cassoulet – Pork
Weeknight Ragu

Chicken/Turkey

African Peanut Stew – Turkey
Chicken A La King
Chicken Cassoulet with Crisp Breadcurmb Topping
Chicken and Mushroom Stew
Chicken with Creamy Dijon Mustard Sauce
Chinese No Clay-Pot Chicken with Soy and Ginger – stew-ish
Quick Chicken Cassoulet
Santa Fe Chicken Chili
Spicy Lentil Chicken Stew
Spicy White Chicken Chili – Crockpot
Turkey Meatball Stew

