My doctor says I have to (continue to) lose weight. Since my last visit in August I’ve lost a whopping 2 lbs. (No, sadly, that’s not a typo.) So the goal is to lose 40lbs by March. Lofty goals I know, but I think I’m on the right track. I need to get to the gym 4 days a week, and probably once on the weekend. My meals are balanced enough, but I need to cut down on the carbs and count the ones I do eat. Joy and bliss.

In other news – I had that conversation again. The one where I’m telling a bachelor to learn to cook five meals. They don’t have to be complicated; but they must be made from scratch. The meals should be different (not just hamburgers, cheeseburgers, …) in either the method in which they are cooked (baked, boiled, sauteed/pan fried, BBQ, braised), their primary ingredient (chicken, fish, beef, pasta, vegetarian), or all the above. My recommendation: BBQ gourmet hamburgers, fresh pasta with marinara sauce, chicken thighs baked in tomato sauce (served over polenta), baked pasta, and pan fried fish & rice.

Menu for the week following October 29th, 2011

SundayCurried Celeriac Soup with potatoes
>Monday: BBQ cheeseburgers, salad
Tuesday: BBQ Chicken, polenta, tomato sauce  & vegetables
Wednesday: BBQ fish, brown rice, steamed green beans/corn
ThursdayCurried Lentil Soup with Chickpea puree & baking soda biscuits
Breakfasts : Chocolate oatmeal with almond butter
Lunch: Leftovers, greek yogurt with rasberries, fruit
Snack: Bag of mushrooms & celery sticks
Rainy day meals
  • Spaghetti Marinara (sauce frozen, pasta pantry)
  • Chili & cornbread (chili frozen; cornbread hm)
  • Fish sticks
  • Hamburger helper (hamburger frozen)
  • Sandwiches (Turkey, cheese, pb&j, pb&h)
