Last night, with all the greens cleared away I found a quart of strawberries, 1/2 a quart of raspberries, two pears and an apple hiding in my fridge. They still looked pretty good; but I knew if I didn’t do something with them soon they’d go the way of the rotter (other wise known as the crisper drawer — where vegetables go to rot).

So I made jam. Without pectin (I never have pectin, not even sugar-free pectin around; and this was not exactly a planned event … then again who spontaneously decides to make jam … I mean, other than me).

It took some looking, but I found a good (and simple) recipe online to make Strawberry and Banana jam without pectin. And I set to work.

I rinsed the berries in the sink and set them atop a towel to drip dry.

I peeled, quartered & cored the pears and the apple … and then went looking for bananas.

I found two in the freezer (still in their peels), and two fresh on the kitchen table. I took three (two frozen, one fresh); peeled ’em, and cut them into slices.

I diced the strawberries, apples, and pears into a pretty rough chop.

All of this went into one large pan along with 2 cups of sugar and 1/4 cup of lemon juice.

And then the fun began. I stirred.

Walked away, prepared dinner, coming back from time to time and stirred some more.

You’re making a sticky mess here — so stirring is important. In the end (after 2 hours on the stove top) it never quite made it to temperature. Since I wasn’t ready to can it, I left it on the stove to cool after dinner.

It gelled nicely. I had some for breakfast this morning in fact. Yum.

So tonight I get to can the stuff. Now, were’s my canning rack…

Strawberry, Rasberry, Pear, Apple, and Banana jam

Ingredients

  • 4 cups combined Strawberries, Rasberries, Pears and apples, Diced To Preference
  • 2 cups Bananas, Mashed To Preference
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • ¼ cups Lemon Juice

Directions

  1. Dice the fruit so that it is roughly consistent in size. Slice your bananas.
  2.  In a heavy-bottomed saucepan, mix together the fruit, sugar, and lemon juice. Stir over low heat until the sugar is dissolved.
  3. Increase heat to high, and bring the mixture to a full rolling boil. Boil, stirring often, until the mixture reaches 220 degrees F (105 degrees C).
  4. Transfer to hot sterile jars, leaving 1/4 to 1/2-inch head space, and seal. Process any unsealed jars in a water bath. If the jam is going to be eaten right away, just refrigerate it.
