It’s going to be a quiet week. I’ve started going back to the gym, which means I have to eat breakfast at home. Thank goodness for steel-cut oats. It also means that I have to be careful to prepare dinner before leaving the house; I get home later and don’t want to start eating dinner at 7-8 instead of 6. The change in my schedule’s not been so easy to deal with. I’m more tired at night, and thus have less energy to make interesting meals.

With food prices rising, I find myself going back to traditional meals – designed to be made in bulk and stored and eaten over time, like the Morrocan Lentil soup, homemade pizza, and gallo pinto: all three can be cheaply made and makes more than enough for 6-8 people. In my case, these will make up a few lunches throughout the week.

Saturday Breakfast: Out
Lunch: Chicken & rice soup
Dinner: Homemade pizza
Sunday Breakfast: Pancakes, bacon, pb
Lunch: Smoked meat sandwich on whole wheat bread
Dinner: Morrocan Lentil soup (crockpot) & Cinnamon Leaves
Monday Breakfast: Steel-cut oatmeal
Lunch: Homemade pizza
Dinner: Fish sticks, salad and ravioli
Tuesday Breakfast: Steel-cut oatmeal
Lunch: Fish & white bean salad sandwich, lentil soup
Dinner: Gallo Pinto and salad

MAKE: Steel-cut oatmeal; store for the week.

Wednesday Breakfast: Steel-cut oatmeal
Lunch: Gallo pinto & salad
Dinner: BBQ oil & red wine marinated steak, baked potatoes & salad
Thursday Breakfast: Steel-cut oatmeal
Lunch: Fish & white bean salad sandwich, lentil soup
Dinner: BBQ Hosin Chicken breasts, baked sweet potatoes & salad
Friday Breakfast: Steel-cut oatmeal
Lunch: Leftovers
Dinner: Leftover buffet

Snacks

  • Cottage cheese
  • Spice muffins
  • Broccoli, zucchini, celery & dip
  • Apples, bananas
