The recent article, Mark Bitman’s custom soups, led me to wonder just how many soup recipes I have in my SpringPad cookbook. Overall the list is impressive; and it doesn’t even get into the stews (curries, cassoulets, ragus, baked or crockpot stews) and the chilis (bean, meat, corn, and various combinations). Then there’s the pasta sauces that you could eat withouth the pasta … but maybe that’s stretching too far afield.

For a long time I’ve been a proponent of stone stoup; that is you make soup with what you have and not what you can buy. While not everyone agrees with it, I like the many and varied results. Which means that, while I probably do start with a recipe for soup — I very rarely follow it.

I typically make way more soup than I need; although I’ve also made just enough for 1 or 2 people. I like that most all soups freeze and store well; and that they make excellent brown bag lunches (especially when carried in a mason jar).

Most all of these recipes work well in a crockpot; but then again my notes say there are very few here that I’ve actually tried.

Once a month I make stock of some kind (vegetable rarely, beef occasionally, and chicken regularly). I freeze what I don’t use immediately — and pull it out to deglaze pans instead of wine or alcohol, and use as a cooking liquid for rice, barley and sometimes even pasta.

STOCK/BOUILLON ARTICLES

Beef stock
Homemade bouillon
Homemade vegetable stock
How to make stock the right way

CREAMY (SIMPLE PUREES, CHOWDERS)

Baked potato soup with Bacon, Onion and Cheddar
Baked potato soup (*)
Corn chowder
Creamy Spinach Soup 
Creamy Sweet Potato Soup (*)
Curried Cauliflower Soup
Curried Celeriac soup (*)
Ginger squash and sweet potato soup
Mushroom and crab chowder
Potato and Leek Soup (bonus)
Pumpkin and Leek Soup
Squash-and-Ginger Soup
Yellow split pea soup – Crockpot

BROTHY (CLEAR SOUPS)

Asian-Style Noodle Soup (bonus)
Cheeseburger Soup
Chicken Pho
Easy Sopa de Lima
Egg Drop Soup 
Hamburger soup
Healtier Raman Noodles
Mom’s Cold-season chicken soup
Pho Bo (Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup)
Rice-and-Pea Soup
Vegetable Broth With Toast

EARTHY (WITH BEANS & NOT MUCH ELSE)

Bean Soup
Bean and Bacon Soup 
Chickpea-and-Pasta Soup
Curried Lentil soup with Chickpea Puree (*)
Lentil and Sausage soup
Lentil soup
Meatball soup
Red lentil soup with lemon (*)
Spicy Black-Bean Soup
White Bean Bisque with Garlic Chips
White Bean Soup with Escarole (bonus)
White bean and tarragon soup (*)

HEARTY (WITH SAUTEED VEGETABLES+)

Beef Barley soup for the crockpot
Cabbage Soup with Caraway (bonus)
Lentil Vegeteable
Hearty Minestrone Soup
Minestrone
Minestrone
Moroccan Lentil crockpot Soup
Mushroom Soup 
Pho Duôi Bò (Vietnamese Noodle Soup with Oxtail)
Spicy Ginger Chicken Noodle Soup
Tomato-and-Garlic Soup
Turkey meatball stew

(*) Updated to add a few more soups.

