Life is what happens when you make other plans.

When I made the original menu (on Thursday), I wasn’t expecting to either (a) go to Cosco or (b) get a lift. Typically one requires the other. Me going to Costo (since we lost the car) always means I gather ingredients in bulk; and my menu plan gets quickly put aside as I shop according to price and availability.

Sandwich bread: 3 loaves per pack. Pork loin: 4-5 per pack. Chicken breasts: 8 per pack. This poses several logistical problems, for while I do occasionally feed a ravenous bunch of gamers; that only happens about twice a week (in the best of times). Without a chest freezer, my fridge becomes so full that finding things becomes difficult; and necessitates me to recast the planned menu almost on the spot. Fortunately there are cuts (and various bits of meat) that we always enjoy and with Menu Plan Monday and Food Blog Search – I can find menus for meals that match what I have in my (over-full) fridge and freezer.

At least it means I don’t have as much to buy in the coming weeks. I’ve started dividing the meat and storing it in containers in the freezer (instead of just wrapping it in plastic on styrofoam trays). Unfortunately, if I keep doing this, I’m going to need more containers…and possibly a larger freezer.

Saturday:
Breakfast: Out/Shopping
Lunch: Falafel sandwich (Chickpea balls with hummus, pickled turnips, diced baby tomatoes, romaine, flat bread)
Dinner: Roast 2 chickens, serve with jus & chipolte bread, side salad with chipolte cheese dressing
2nd Roast chicken for leftovers; bones for stock.
Sunday:
Breakfast:  Pancakes
Lunch:  falafel sandwich
Feeding a crowd in the afternoon: Cheese plate (brie, oka), vegetable platter with ranch dip, spinach dip in sourdough, and fresh-baked spanikopita
Dinner:  Hamburgers & crudité
The Crudité come  from leftover vegetable platter.
Make and store brown rice (for lunch leftovers)
Monday:
Breakfast: Oatmeal + fruit
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner: Sweet and sour pork stirfry over brown rice

Tuesday:
Breakfast: Breakfast bread + fruit
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner: Chili topped twice-baked potatoes (the chili is from last week), spinach salad in vinaigrette
Wednesday:
Breakfast: Breakfast bread + fruit
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner: Chicken with Provencal Sauce,  brown rice & salad (using chicken thighs; brown well)
Thursday:
Breakfast: Breakfast bread + fruit
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner:  Chicken fried rice & steamed vegetables
Prep Beef stew with red wine in the crockpot for tomorrow night.
Make Banana Blondies for tomorrow night (Of course, the batch must be tested…)
Friday:
Breakfast: Breakfast bread + fruit
Lunch:  Leftovers
Dinner:  Beef stew with red wine with potatoes & additional vegetables. Side of cornmeal biscuits (wheat-free).
