Over on Salt & Fat this week there’s a post about biscuits. I love home-made biscuits. Corn, yeasted, baking soda, you name ’em – I love ’em. I don’t make them often, and rarely plan it when I do.

Soda biscuits

These come together very quickly. Sometimes I roll and cut them, other times I just make little balls of dough, placing multiple balls in each cup of a muffin tin. The latter makes the dough easier to pull apart.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • ¾ teaspoon soda
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • ½ tablespoon shortening, oil, or butter
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Instructions

  1. Mix all ingredients together to form a soft dough.
  2. Roll out on floured pastry board to a thickness of 1/2 inch. Cut with biscuit cutter.
  3. Place biscuits on greased baking pan.
  4. Bake at 400 degrees F for about 15 minutes.
